Types of Elections in India

The various types of election in India are :-

  • General Elections : The candidates are elected for the Lok Sabha and they are called MPs (Member of Parliament) . These elections are held every five years.

  • Assembly Elections : The State Assembly election in India are the elections in which the India electorate choose the members of the Vidhan sabha ( or Legislative / State Assembly). They are held every five years and the members of the Legislative Assembly are called MLAs.

  • Rajya Sabha Elections : It is elected by state and territorial legislatures. Terms of office are for six years, with one third of the members retiring every two years.

  • President Elections : The President is elected, from a group of nominees, by the elected members of the Parliament of India (Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha) and of the state legislatures (Vidhan Sabhas), and serves for term of five years   

No comments

'; (function() { var dsq = document.createElement('script'); dsq.type = 'text/javascript'; dsq.async = true; dsq.src = '//' + disqus_shortname + '.disqus.com/embed.js'; (document.getElementsByTagName('head')[0] || document.getElementsByTagName('body')[0]).appendChild(dsq); })();